OSL Awards 2022: Congratulations to the Winners!

OSL Awards

26 January 2023

We are delighted to announce the winners of the 2022 OSL Awards! The Awards are intended to acknowledge original and innovative contributions to the field of literary studies and to highlight the work of talented OSL students and scholars. Please find the full list below:

ReMA Thesis

First Prize: Pascale Feldkamp Moreira, ‘Writing with the left hand: Reading(s) of Bilingual Authors Style(s)’, Utrecht University

Runner-up: Sadie Hale, ‘Anthropocene sharks: temporalities of an epoch and encounters never known’, VU Amsterdam


PhD Thesis

First Prize: Andrés Ibarra Cordero, ‘No Progress: Queer Chronotopes in Late Twentieth Century Fiction’, University of Amsterdam

Runner-up: Judith Jansma, ‘From Submission to Soumission: Populist Perspectives on Culture’, University of Groningen

Peer-reviewed article


First Prize: Duygu Erbil (Utrecht University), ‘The Making of a Young Martyr: Discursive Legacies of the Turkish “Youth Myth” in the Afterlife of Deniz Gezmiş’. In Youth and Memory in Europe: Defining the Past, Shaping the Future, edited by Félix Krawatzek and Nina Friess, Berlin, Boston: De Gruyter, 2022, pp. 113-126. https://doi.org/10.1515/9783110733501-008

Runner-up: Sasha Richman (University of Groningen), “La déception photographique et la réalité insaisissable dans La chambre noire de Damoclès de Willem Frederik Hermans,” Deshima. Revue d’histoire globale des Pays du Nord 15 (2021): Presses universitaires de Strasbourg, pp. 251-268.


Our warmest congratulations to the winners, and to all those who submitted their work! This year’s jury consisted of Prof. Michael Boyden (Radboud University), Dr. Andrew Bricker (Ghent University), Prof. Karina van Dalen-Oskam (University of Amsterdam), Dr. Alberto Godioli (University of Groningen), Prof. Odile Heynders (Tilburg University), Dr. Marleen Rensen (University of Amsterdam), Dr. Jeanette den Toonder (University of Groningen) and Prof. Pablo Valdivia (University of Groningen).