OSL Awards 2023: The results are in!

OSL Awards

21 December 2023

We are delighted to announce the winners of the 2023 OSL Awards! The Awards are intended to acknowledge original and innovative contributions to the field of literary studies and to highlight the work of talented OSL students and scholars. Please find the full list below:

ReMA Thesis

First Prize: Georgios Podaropoulos, ‘Towards a grammar of utopia: (Re)mapping the logic of utopianism in Wells, Joyce, Huxley, and Dimitriou’, Leiden University

Runner-up: Mara van Herpen, ‘Geologic Testimony: The Fossil as Climate Witness in Contemporary Culture’, Utrecht University


PhD Thesis

First Prize: Clara Vlessing, ‘Remembering Revolutionary Women: The Cultural Afterlives of Louise Michel, Emma Goldman and Sylvia Pankhurst’, Utrecht University


Published book

First Prize: Marileen La Haije (Radboud University), Locura y trauma en la ficción centroamericana reciente, Brill, 2023.

Peer-reviewed article


First Prize: Kila van der Starre (Utrecht University), “A Media-Specific Analysis of Candlelight Poetry
on the Radio. The World’s Longest-running Radio Poetry Show,” Journal of Radio & Audio Media, 2022. DOI: 10.1080/19376529.2022.2150859

Runner-up: Anneloek Scholten (Radboud University), “Van ‘onderlinge hulp’ naar ‘onkunde en vooroordeel’: De omslag in literaire representaties van tegenspoed op het platteland, 1850-1914,” De Moderne Tijd. De Lage Landen, 1780-1940 6.4 (2022) 320-339. https://doi.org/10.5117/DMT2022.4.004.SCHO


Our warmest congratulations to the winners, and to all those who submitted their work! This year’s jury consisted of Prof. Maria Boletsi (Leiden University / University of Amsterdam), Dr. Babs Boter (Vrije Universiteit), Dr. Alberto Godioli (University of Groningen), Dr Liesbeth Minnaard (Leiden University), Dr. Camilla Sutherland (University of Groningen) and Prof. Pablo Valdivia (University of Groningen).